Season 2015-16

The ancient game of hurling has a noted history in St. Mary’s College. One of the first references to the game points to the school year 1923-24 when a Mary’s team won the Senior Hurling Cup offered for competition between the colleges of Connacht, Clare and Limerick. This was the first of many victories for the College, including eventually twenty seven Connacht Senior ‘A’ championships, the first of which was won in 1936. This roll of honour includes four-in-a-row victories between 1939 and 1942, a phenomenal nine-in-a-row between 1949 and 1957, and five in a row from 1963 and 1967. These are feats unmatched in Connacht Colleges history, and unlikely ever to be so. The last senior ‘A’ title was recorded in 1994, a year where we were very unlucky to lose the All-Ireland final to North Monastery of Cork

St. Mary’s fields still ring out to ‘the clash of the ash’ as we endeavour to maintain the College as a hurling stronghold in the city, under the expert guidance of our hurling coaches.

St. Mary's College Senior Hurling team 2013

St. Mary’s College Senior Hurling team 2013












Season 2014-15 Season 2013-14 Season 2012-13.